4 Things I Learned in 4 days of Isolation

Intense, ay?

42975A7F-F199-40ED-818D-535D3E981128

Four days of isolation means lots of things. That sounds odd. But there’s time for rest and rejuvenation. There’s time for loneliness and boredom. There’s time for cleaning and working out, and time for social media and zoning out. There’s time spent in the Word of God, and time spent writing, and time spent watching movies. So for that reason, it doesn’t just mean one thing… like I am now a spiritually mature person… or I have now gone crazy from lack of interaction.

 

1. I am an extrovert.

Maybe I wasn’t before, but I am now. Old things are passed, behold all things are become new. I’ve always enjoyed people, but I also enjoyed solo time. I loved hanging out in crowds, but I also loved being by myself.

Ahem.

Okay, I will now take any and all social interaction. Bring it on! Old folks, babies, teens, whoever! Just give me people!

 

2. I’ve got some of the kindest people in my life.

My grandma drove four hours round trip to bring me food and medicine. Hot food, snacks, drinks, and medicine, were dropped on my doorstep by dear people. My landlord checked in on me, and told me to call if I need anything. Multiple friends offered to buy me groceries… and Nutella. My doorstep became such a cool place. I’m starting to feel like a goddess with my “offering stone.”

And the verse keeps coming to mind,

“Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High…

But ye shall die like men..”

cough   Maybe I do have Covid…

 

 

3. He’s the God Who stays.

I realize you shouldn’t take anything personal during this time… but after a little while of everyone treating you like you’re an unclean, untouchable freak, you start feeling like an unclean, untouchable freak. When everyone leaves, or gives you stuff and runs away, it’s a good good reminder that God will never leave you or forsake you. He is our safe place, our Comfort. He runs towards us when everyone else leaves.

 

4. Quarantine messes with people’s minds

I don’t like these challenges and #quarantinegames. I think they’re stupid wastes of time. I couldn’t work, therefore I was bored.

Therefore, boredom and being stuck in this #quarantinelife started messing with my mind.

Therefore I did things that I would never have done otherwise.

Therefore I actually participated in said challenges.

Maddening. It’s time we get back to normal.

One thought on “4 Things I Learned in 4 days of Isolation

Leave a comment